Arkansas is a state located in the southern region of the United States, bordered by Missouri to the north, Tennessee to the northeast, Mississippi to the east, Louisiana to the south, Texas to the southwest, and Oklahoma to the west.

As of the 2020 United States Census, the estimated population of Arkansas was approximately 3.01 million people. The capital of Arkansas is Little Rock, which had an estimated population of 197,866 in 2020, making it the most populous city in the state. The second most populous city is Fort Smith, with an estimated population of 86,209 in 2020.

The history of Arkansas dates back thousands of years, when various indigenous peoples, including the Caddo, Osage, and Quapaw, lived in the area. The first Europeans to explore Arkansas were Spanish and French explorers in the 16th and 17th centuries, but they did not establish a permanent settlement.

In the 18th and 19th centuries, Arkansas became part of the United States and played a significant role in the Louisiana Purchase, the Trail of Tears, and the American Civil War. Arkansas was admitted to the Union as the 25th state in 1836.

During the early 20th century, Arkansas experienced significant economic growth and development, with the establishment of industries such as timber, mining, and agriculture. The state also played a significant role in the Civil Rights Movement, with the desegregation of Little Rock Central High School in 1957.

Today, Arkansas is known for its natural beauty, including the Ozark and Ouachita Mountains, as well as its rich cultural heritage, including a significant African American and Native American population. The state’s economy is based on industries such as agriculture, manufacturing, and services. Arkansas is also home to many historical sites and museums that showcase the state’s unique history and culture.