South Dakota

South Dakota is a state located in the Midwestern region of the United States. It is bordered by North Dakota to the north, Minnesota to the east, Iowa to the southeast, Nebraska to the south, Wyoming to the west, and Montana to the northwest.

According to the United States Census Bureau, the estimated population of South Dakota in 2020 was 887,770.

The capital of South Dakota is Pierre, and the estimated population of Pierre in 2020 was 13,646.

The most populous city in South Dakota is Sioux Falls, with an estimated population of 195,850 in 2020.

South Dakota has a rich history that dates back thousands of years, with evidence of human habitation in the area dating back to the Paleo-Indian period. The region was home to various Native American tribes, including the Sioux, before European explorers arrived in the late 17th century.

In the 19th century, South Dakota became a key site of conflict between Native Americans and white settlers, culminating in the 1890 Wounded Knee Massacre. During this time, the state also saw significant growth due to the expansion of railroads and the discovery of gold in the Black Hills.

South Dakota became a state in 1889 and played an important role in the development of the American West. During the Great Depression, the state suffered along with the rest of the country but saw significant growth during and after World War II due to the development of military bases and other industries.

Today, South Dakota is known for its natural beauty, including the Black Hills, Badlands National Park, and Mount Rushmore. The state is also a major producer of agricultural products such as corn and soybeans and is home to a thriving tourism industry. Despite its small population, South Dakota has played an important role in American history and culture and continues to be a key part of the national conversation.